Share This Post


Minimum Wage: Niger workers to wait till 2020

Civil servants in Niger State might have to attend until 2020 earlier than benefitting from the brand new minimal wage owing to the failure of Governor Abubakar Sani Bello to make provision for it within the 2019 funds.

Daily Sun learnt that within the presentation of the Mid-Term Expenditure Framework (MTEF) to the House of Assembly, the governor didn’t make provision for the brand new minimal wage.

The House, nevertheless, accepted the MTEF for 2020 funds with an adjustment, yesterday, in Minna.

The House, in its advice mentioned: “MTEF did not take into consideration the new minimum wage, transfer of staff from ministries, department and agencies (MDAs) to tertiary institutions, five per cent pension redemption, and two per cent outstanding pension liability.”

“In view of this situation, there was need for adjustment in the oil production benchmark of 2.0million barrel per day to 2.10 million barrel per day, and oil price benchmark of $55 per barrel to $56 per barrel in other to provide the require revenue to finance them”.

The House additionally carried out variations to the statutory allocation projection for 2020 from N64.three billion to N66.790 billion.

As a results of the variation, the 2020 funds dimension of N149.983 billion has been elevated to N152.412 billion.

The growth additionally affected the capital expenditure which now stands at N90.587 billion as in opposition to N88.158 billion.

This selections had been taken at a sitting presided over by Speaker Abdullahi Bawa Wuse.

Meanwhile, the House has confirmed 20 commissioner nominees, every week after they had been screened.

The nominees had been unanimously confirmed via a voice vote following a movement by the Majority Leader, Musa Nasko.

During the screening, which lasted 4 days, a number of the nominees had been requested to take a bow and go, whereas others had been grilled.

The nominees embody Nasara Dan Mallam, Zakari Abubakar, Haliru Jikantoro, AbdulMalik Sarkin Daji, Mukhtar Nasaleh, Ramatu Yardua, Ibrahim Panti, Hannatu Saleh and Rifkatu Chidawa. Others are Mustapha Jibrin, Yusuf Suleiman, Emmanuel Umar, Mohammed Idris, Tanko Zakari, Sunday Kolo, Haruna Dukku, Mamman Musa, Maku Sidi, Tasala Marafa and Abubakar Aliyu.

Share This Post


  1. Hmmmm

  2. Good

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.